Let Go

I will always remember you.
Your smile with your tongue sticking out.
That shaggy hair when we carried you through the door.
Those two black olive eyes.

Your patience with me was remarkable.
Your love–perfect.
You did not judge my imperfect ways.

You’d greet me every time I walked through that door.
Whether I’d be gone a minuet, or an hour more.
You’d always comfort me; always by my side.
My pal, my four-legged friend.

You’d greet me every time I walked through that door.
Whether I’d be gone a minuet, or an hour more.
You’d always comfort me; always by my side.
My pal, my four-legged friend.

And those moments I laughed, I’ll never forget.
Those times I held your head against mine to say “I love you.”
Those moments I just held you like a baby in my arms.
I’ll never forget those moments.

Though I still hurt that you’re gone, a part of me knows you’re always with me.
Here, in my heart.
Now it’s my turn to do my best to smile instead of cry when thinking of your memory.
Now it’s my turn to save another dog and love him as much as I did you.
It’s my turn to move on with love and understanding.

You think you know love. Then you meet someone unexpectedly.
And you never knew you could love something so small.
You never knew I could love so deeply and so true.
I finally understood that I never understood love until I met you.

I miss you dearly. But I know I must move on.
This is what you’d want.
And don’t worry, ’cause, well you know,
I told you this while you were alive, I told you this when you grew old.

Forever you’ll be in my heart.
Forever I’ll always think of you.
Forever you’ll be, My Hachi.

This entry was posted in Insight and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

