Thankful for Myself

I never told anyone what I’m thankful for.

I am thankful for the actions of change, the truth of time, the sorrow and rejoice of letting go, and the adventure in creating new memories.

And though this may sound ridiculous and totally self-centered, I am most grateful and thankful for me simply being me. I don’t know anyone on my Facebook page who actually thanks themselves for simply who they are. Think about it! If you weren’t who you were, would you have the friends (and this is assuming you love all your friends) you have now? Would you have the life you have now (assuming again that you like where you’re at) if that drive, that insane powerful thing called “self-love”, that determination, those indescribable words “never give up” didn’t resonate within your very being??

Is it bad to rejoice in your self-worth on this day of thanks? Is it bad to look at yourself in the mirror and thank yourself for all the decisions you’ve made to get you where you are now?

I don’t know. But on Thanksgiving Day, I didn’t feel like shouting out to the world what I’m thankful for. There’s a few reasons.

When I’m at my job and I feel the need to say something a loud, like I feel it in my heart and in my soul, I send out a “thanks” to my co-workers, to my company, to God. When a friend helps me, I thank them. When they pay, I thank them. And then I try to reciprocate as much as possible. When some stranger holds the door for me, I thank them. Every single time. And then I do the same. When someone lets me go ahead of them at a stop though its their turn, I hear myself say “thank you” aloud, and I return the favor to a perfect stranger.

It’s amazing what the little “thank you’s” and the notion of your hand gesturing for the other car to go ahead of you brings to your life.

Most people say they are thankful on Facebook or Twitter, or Myspace, or even on here on Thanksgiving. But for me, I skipped it this year because I find that I don’t need to tell others what I’m thankful for. They should know I’m thankful for all of the memories, laughs, and times we’ve spent together. They should know. My family should know I’m thankful for everything they’ve done. My boyfriend should know I am thankful for him. They should know because I show and say it. But, in addition to that, I am thankful for other things:

I am thankful for who I am, where I’ve come, and the path God has put me on.

Celebrate yourself. You’re totally worth it.

This entry was posted in Insight and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

